SPER Executive Committee: Call for Nominations

Service Promotion Experience Recognition


Nominations are being sought for President (2016-2019), Secretary (2016-2019), one Member-at-Large (2016-2020), and SPER Student Representative (2016-2017). All terms will begin at the close of the June 2016 Annual Meeting. Members of SPER are encouraged to nominate themselves or any other member of SPER to run for these positions, and help our Society achieve continued success through this opportunity for professional service.

The President will serve as President-Elect (2016-2017), President (2017-2018) and Past President (2018-2019).  The main duties of the President-Elect are to help the President develop plans for the Annual Meeting and to chair the selection of the Student Prize Paper Award recipient; the President designs the program for the Annual Meeting and is in charge of Executive Committee decision-making; and the Past President chairs the selection of the Heinz Berendes International Travel Award recipient and provides input as needed.

The Secretary is involved in all Executive Committee activities, works with the President to schedule conference calls and takes minutes, and develops the annual meeting brochure and works on planning the logistics for the annual meeting in coordination with the SER Conference Services. This member will replace Una Grewal.

The Member-at-Large participates in all Executive Committee activities. The Member-at-Large elected this cycle will be responsible for coordinating abstract reviews for the SPER Annual Meeting, and will replace Lynne Messer.

The Student Representative participates in Executive Committee meetings, encourages and facilitates student participation in SPER and works on the Advanced Methods Workshop, which precedes the Annual Meeting. This member will replace Cassandra Gibbs Pickens.

Nominations are due by March 1, 2016. Contact Sunni Mumford with additional questions at mumfords@mail.nih.gov. You can also contact Sunni for more information by phone at 301-435-6946.  The slate of candidates and ballot will be presented to the membership for electronic voting to take place in April 2016.

Click here to submit a nomination.